Photo post: Edale, Jacob’s Ladder and The Woolpacks

I had the opportunity to head out with our Vango Force 10 at the weekend. The accessibility of Edale proved too tempting to resist and we pitched at Fieldhead. This campsite seems stuck in a time warp – the facilities no more appealing than the first time I poorly pitched my old, heavy backpacking tent on its muddy fields – yet its location remains a major plus.

Saturday saw us climbing Jacob’s Ladder and picking a route through the Woolpacks before clambering down the boulders of Grindsbrook Clough. I promised my other half ‘proper’ Dark Peak and the Dark Peak didn’t disappoint – although a slip on our descent and bruised behind did prompt questions about my ‘classic’ circuit.

Heading out on the Pennine Way
Heading out on the Pennine Way

Pressing on to Upper Booth
Pressing on to Upper Booth

Sheep strike a pose
Sheep strike a pose
A glorious if windy day
A glorious if windy day
Jacobs Ladder
Jacob’s Ladder
edale6a
Jacob’s Ladder
Noe Stool
Noe Stool
edale8a
Anyone for a bit of bouldering?
Approaching The Woolpacks
Approaching The Woolpacks
edale10a
Pick a route through the gritstone…
edale11a
You looking at me…?
The top of Grindsbrook and our route off the plateau
The top of Grindsbrook and our route off the plateau
On safer ground in Grindsbrook Clough...
On safer ground in Grindsbrook Clough…
... and to softer scenery
… and to softer scenery
4 thoughts on “Photo post: Edale, Jacob’s Ladder and The Woolpacks

  1. Great pictures! Interestingly I rode a similar route, taking in Jacob’s ladder, on a horse last year. My wife assured me it was within the capability of my steed – it was but I was impressed with it’s nimble climbing up something so uneven.

Leave a Reply

