Northern Walker’s 2013

Tongue Gill at the end of a lovely  Lake District backpack
Tongue Gill at the end of a lovely Lake District backpack

A seasoned work colleague once told me that the older you get, the quicker the years seem to pass. He offered this sage observation 18 years ago, the inference being that you should not waste a second of the limited time you have on the planet. I’ll be 40 in a couple of weeks and, for the last five years or so, the passage of time has seemingly accelerated as per his prediction.

2013 has been good to me in many ways and, heeding this advice, I’ve tried to make the most of the free time I’ve had. My two-week tour of Iceland was superb and I’ve enjoyed some magic moments in the hills.

However, regretfully, not all of the latter made the pages of the blog. Many of the trips were notable, but the pressures of work in the latter half of the year have left me spent… struggling to find adequate words without resorting to cumbersome clichés.

I realise I’ve become mute on other social channels too. I’ll endeavour to kick start these in the New Year.

More positively, and in common with 2012, I’ve enjoyed some great conversations with cycle tourers and outdoors folk across the globe. I note from the WordPress review of the year that while the UK audience continues to grow, the site is now well read in the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Learning from others remains my prime motivation.

In common with previous years, I’ll give a quick rundown on the top posts from the last twelve months. All the best for the New Year and thanks for your continued support.

Pingvellir camping
Camping in Iceland after another great day on the road

The top five

1 Choosing the best touring bicycle (updated January 2013)

2 Choosing the best bike touring wheels

3 Fjällräven Nils Trousers – first look

4 The ‘best’ touring bike tyres – now it’s personal

5 Touring bicycle sizing and fit

Trips

1 Bicycle touring the Hebrides, Scotland

2 Iceland by bicycle days seven and eight – Kjolur

3 Notes from Camusrory – Walking with Mac

4 Photo post: Lake District Backpack, Ambleside to Keswick

5 A perfect Peak District wild camp – Going up west

6 thoughts on “Northern Walker’s 2013

Leave a Reply

