Cycle touring Iceland – gear list

Thought I’d post the gear list for my Iceland bicycle tour, as I’m aware some folk out there are interested in this kind of stuff.

After further deliberation, I’ve settled on the extra weight of my trusty Vaude Hogan XT for this trip. It might be a bit more susceptible to wind due to its size, but it provides a luxurious home for a fortnight. I am going to seam seal it properly this time, though, and have a tube of SilNet coming in the post.

Any observations/ thoughts, please spill them in the comments or drop me a line.

Bike: Surly Troll, 22-inch. Tubus Cargo and Duo racks.
22T/32T/44T 12-34 (low gears!)

Tent: Vaude Hogan XT

Luggage (on bike): Carradice Super C front and rear panniers. Alpkit Airlok dry bag, 35ltr. Nike bum bag for bits and bobs.

Bike transport/other luggage: Evoc Bike Bag. Hi Gear Cargo bag.

Sleeping bag: Mountain Equipment Co-operative Merlin, large.

Sleep mat: Thermarest Prolite 4 and Blacks foam mattress. Exped Pillow.

Clothing:
Montane shell
Atura Waterproof ¾ shorts
Overshoes
Montane Velo H2O jacket (trialled as a wind/drizzle shell)
2 pair Endura wicking mesh undershorts
1 pair Merino underpants (Rapha, get me! Was a gift)
3 merino tops – Mountain Warehouse and Smartwool (two for riding, one for off the bike)
Merino long johns, Smartwool
Gore cycling mitts
Sealskinz winter riding gloves
Berghaus Fleece (optional)
2 Buffs (at least)
Endura Baa Baa Beanie hat
Endura Piranha Glasses
Specs for nightime (for reading, not night vision)
Shimano SPD shoes
Keen Newport sandals
Fjalraven Nils trousers
North Face down jacket
Swimming trunks

Kitchen:
MSR Pocket Rocket
MSR Titanium pot with lid
MSR Mugmate
Gas canister ‘feet’
Titanium cup
Spork
Platipus 3ltr bladder
2 Nalgene lightweight hipflasks (for whisky)
Lighter

Hydration:
Standard bidon and cage plus Top Peak Modula XL cage for oversize bottles

First aid:
Lifeventure frist aid kit
Sunscreen
Clarins moisture replen cream (the best, but expensive)
Sudocreme/chamois cream
Deep heat

Sundries:
Samsung Galaxy S2
Samsung Galaxy Tab (with books on Kindle)
PowerGen external battery
Olympus EPL1 with 14-42 kit lens
Joby Gorillapod
Iceland Maps, Ferdakort and Michelin
Small deodorant
Small shower gel
Lightweight towel
Soap flakes
Petzl Tikka Plus Headtorch (probably not needed)
Thermarest Chair

Tools:
Chain whip
Multi-tool
Spare spokes and nipples
Freewheel remover
Two tubes (at least!)
Puncture kit
Tyre levers
Two adjustable spanners
WD40 (small can)
Spare chain links (SRAM gold links)
Spare brake and gear cables
Spoke key
Pump

Security:
Abus D lock
Kryptonite steel cable

5 thoughts on “Cycle touring Iceland – gear list

  1. You seem to have your bases well-covered. I have taken a GPS receiver there to pinpoint bearings on some of the lonelier interior roads. Also, having done multiple Iceland tours, I do prefer waterproof trekking boots (plus ankle gaiters) and platform pedals over SPD, though at home I use SPD even for brief commutes. Boots are so much better on all that lava and rock. Have a great tour. I’ll be there again in a month. Don’t worry about mosquitos…

  2. Oh, one other suggestion: I would recommend taking along a spare folding tire, or at least a side-wall patch kit. You probably won’t need it, but I have seen even robust tires die there. Though my Schwalbes Marathon XR’s have never failed me, a riding companion did shred a tire on the Kjolur. Cheers!

  3. Thanks both for the comments…. as Mitch says, the bugs aren’t going to be an issue. I was thinking of getting a folding tire although I do expect the Schwalbe Extremes to hold up. Your feedback has convinced me that I should invest in one. My pedals are single-sided spd, the other side platform just in case I encounter some really hairy riding surfaces. I’ll take overshoes, which aren’t on the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

