A postcard from Loch a Braghaid, North Morar

I’d spent much of Saturday drying out in our small cottage. Sunday, it was time to get wet again.

Fly Fishing Loch a Braghaid North MorarClambering over the rough hills of North Morar in July delivered a new sense of dampness. The air was as thick and soggy as the boggy basins I was negotiating between rocky hummocks while trying to follow a compass bearing.

And then it rained… I watched wraith-like storms charge up Loch Morar and Nevis. Distant hills were cloaked by another smear of rain. I counted till heavy raindrops drummed on the shoulders of my jacket: Less than a minute; conditions changeable.

Standing atop Eun-Tium, a mere pimple by Scottish hill standards and yet an engaging climb in this wild land, I took a simple westerly bearing and followed it.

I headed to familiar ground by an unfamiliar route… A straight line. It wasn’t straight, of course, and I diverted around streams, rocky obstacles and contoured terraces in a bid to find the best line. Map distances are stretched here and I doff my flatcap to experienced navigators who can pace with precision.

Cresting yet another summit, I disturbed a deer and a calf. They disappeared over a small bealach, underlining my inadequate, heavy-booted progress.

I then found my objective: Loch a Braghaid, a sizeable lozenge of water tucked away in the hills. I had a five-weight fly rod strapped to my pack and a small box of flies: Anglinglight.com

I made tea with loch water and rolled out a short cast. The trout obliged and I spent a contented hour or so messing about by the water. As my cast deteriorated, I knew it was time to head back, to dry out again for next time.

7 thoughts on “A postcard from Loch a Braghaid, North Morar

    1. Hi Alan… No, at Kylesmorar. Enjoyed a couple of sermons with father Frank Conway too 🙂 I really love it here… Not the easiest place in some ways, but worth the effort.

    1. A few brownies… Beautiful wee things they are too. Nothing from Loch Nevis on rod and line this time though. Some fruits of the sea in the pots though.

  1. hi, inspiring post, having followed your site for a little while ive decided toi take the plunge and go wild camping – but I’m in England, Buckinghamshire, and understand that it’s not legal here, as in Scotland – I’ve read the advice on Google re arriving as late as possible and leaving as early, and asking permission when near a farm (frankly I’m hoping to be so deep into the back of beyond that that wont happen – curiously it is possible to get that far away n leafy Bucks) – but I’m pretty nervous about the whole thing (in one part about the fact that its illegal, in another about the safety aspect). Do you think it’s OK to do it? and do you have any advice? many thanks, Derf

    1. Hi Derf,

      I think you’ll be fine. The important thing is to be discreet, which gets increasingly easy as the nights start to draw in. I can be bit apprehensive in the Peak District as rangers have been known to take part in late night patrols. I’ve never had any issues though. If you choose your spot with care, you won’t have that problem in Bucks.

      All the best. Let me know how you get on 🙂

Leave a Reply

