Rolling out the bivvy bag above Edale

I’ve written a fair amount about Kinder Scout on this blog, but I’ve never ‘overnighted’ on its boggy plateau or, perhaps, more agreeable shoulders.

I remedied this at the weekend. I had some free time, although not as much as I’d hoped, so jumped on a train with a light pack. The forecast had been dreadful all week, but the prognosis had improved late on, with periods of extensive sunshine and rain later. I took the bivvy bag.

I had no plan… this was going to be a slow pootle over familiar ground. A trip to Edale and Kinder is like seeing old friends, and it’s a friendship that requires little maintenance. Like the enduring circle of soul mates gained during childhood, I reconnect three or four times a year, but I have the ever-present reassurance that it’s there if needed.

My route took me east along the valley and up on the plateau. Occasional showers gave the evening light a keener edge, throwing sometimes-stark contrast across lush fields bloated by a week of downpours.

I found some clean water and boiled it for my dinner. Kicking back above Nether Tor, I watched the evening progress.

Rolling out the bivvy beyond Grindsbrook Knoll, I had a fine view down the vale. My satisfaction was short lived, however, as a stiff northerly wind snaked around the surrounding hills and rattled the bag. I found a small, dry-ish depression and turned away from the view.

The wind remained all night, and rain drummed on the bag at dawn. I was warm and dry though, and felt a strange sense of comfort in my exposed bedroom.

24 thoughts on “Rolling out the bivvy bag above Edale

    1. I like the colour 🙂 So you were pitched on the moor near that tarn then? Good spot round there. I’ve pitched there a few times. Affords good views. Handy place to catch inversions too as it sticks out from the main mass of Kinder 😉

      Can’t beat a bivvy eh?

      1. I am so sold on the bag for overnighters… Simple and effective. The colour’s nice, just not great for stealth camping 🙂

    2. Hmmm…. Not sure where that previous comment went Terry. Bit of a glitch with WordPress on my tablet.

      As I was saying, I bivvied below the knoll. Nice spot, shame about the wind.

      I really like this Big Agnes bag… It’s big enough for my lanky frame and all my kit. The eVent fabrics is top too. Just not a fan of the colour.

  1. Good to get reacquainted with an old friend now and again. An evocative set of photos that – I particularly like the sun and rain one. Cheers.

    1. Hi Mark,

      Thanks for the comment. Still getting to grips with a new a camera so pics are a bit work in progress now that I’m not lugging my slr kit on these trips.

      I think it’s important to see old friends in all weathers/seasons etc if possible to get a true picture of their character 🙂

  2. You brave men can keep your bivvy! I like to ‘get out there’ but with a little comfort with me too! Love that area and the photo’s are so familiar to me (and very lovely shots too!)

    1. im afraid i have the same feelings about the bivvy – that it’s brave – bizzarrely bivvies trigger unpleasant memories of conscription for me – so i’d be scurrying for a tent too, though i can fully see how the open bedroom feeling could be liberating..

      1. There are times when I wished I hadn’t taken the bag (!) but I prefer it for quick overnighters, which constitute most of my outdoors trips these days. Fully understand why folk would prefer the tent, particularly as strong, backcountry-ready models are so light nowadays.

  3. Nice little overnighter, I’ve been meaning to do something similar on my local Welsh hills all summer but it hasn’t arrived. You really have an eye for a photo, some superb shots there. Cheers
    Andy

    1. Thanks Andy. The nice thing about this part of the Peak is that it’s only a short train ride away. I need to make sure I get over there more, though.

  4. Great place for bivvy and a wee dram. Done lots of day walks but no bivvy yet. My excuse is wet weather. Great photos.

    1. Thanks for dropping by Andy. No dram this time sadly 🙂 I know what you mean about the weather… Been pretty soul destroying. I got a bit lucky last week.

      1. Yes i like the convinces of a simple bivvy. We use to drive to Scotland call in at some suppermarket for supples then bivvy at the end of the car park and leave at first light.
        We use to put the sleeping bag inside the bivvy bag and stuff them both into a larger stuff sack.
        So that you are ready to pack-up and set up quick. Then call at a cafe for breakfast.I must admit it a few years ago

  5. I work in Castleton and have the same affection for Kinder that you seem to have…..nice post and might have to try and have a night up there myself although I may have to wait til Spring right now…..

Leave a Reply

