It doesn’t always pay to go back, but…

I’ve just returned from a second week in Kylesmorar on the shores of Loch Nevis. To be honest, I was a little reluctant to go back. Time off work is so very scarce, and there are so many places to go, so many things to see.Loch Nevis, taken between Kylesmorar and Tarbet

However, the Kyles has a distinct advantage for holidaying with the other half: it combines some very fine outdoor distractions for me with some equally high quality ‘chilling’ for her.

Once we’d stepped off the boat, I realised pretty quickly my fears had been unfounded.

Some quite splendid weather this year allowed me to fill my boots (literally) on the hills of north Morar and Knoydart. The piscatorial planets aligned and I managed to catch fish from Loch Nevis – including a stunning, if wee, sea trout – while a day’s ‘anglhiking’ with map and compass revealed the most beautiful lochan filled with equally beautiful wild brown trout.

Add to that otter watching, deer stalking (read: ‘photostalking’), seals and tracing the daily beat of a golden eagle, and the area’s abundant wildlife obliged too.

The week was crowned by a shindig at the Tarbet Bunkhouse. Warden Frank was on form (not for the easily offended) and the whisky flowed.

More stories to come…

2 thoughts on “It doesn’t always pay to go back, but…

  1. What a great place to stay. I’ve backpacked and camped at the far end of Loch Nevis near Sourlies bothy and it truly is a fantastic area. Look forward to some more photos and stories

  2. It’s stunning, and I love it dearly. I will get this way at some point with the backpacking gear. At the moment, it’s a perfect retreat for the other half and I. I can go off and get my boots muddy, and madam can get some serious reading in!

Leave a Reply

