Back at the desk…

I’ve just had the most enjoyable week cycle touring. The weather was reasonably kind, if a little cold, and miles in the saddle allowed me to detach from the grind and get a bit of much-needed perspective on things.


I rode from Berwick to Whitehaven and then back to Windermere following the Hadrian’s Wall cycle route for much of the way.


The itinerary was relatively gentle, although there were a couple of 70-mile days thrown in for good measure, some reasonable climbs and an ever-present headwind which robbed my face of moisture and each night gave me the bug-eyed look of a high -altitude mountaineer of polar explorer. I have never got through so much E45!


As soon as it was over, I started to miss the bike. I could happily carried on to Ireland or about turned and headed to Europe for a few months. Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

