Cadair Idris, July

Tick tock… tick tock… keep an eye on that watch. I only had a chunk of change in my pockets while parking old faithful in the car park. Four hours to complete the cirque of Cadair Idris and collect deadwood for the campfire.

Llyn Cau appears through the mistI started at pace but soon slowed to my approximation of a Ranulph Fiennes ‘Polar Plod’ as the gradient started to bite.

I climbed the side of the corrie and into the cloud. The tops felt wild, despite the popularity of this geography text-book natural amphitheatre.

Breaks in the mist revealed the deep blue of Llyn Cau, its waters enlivened by sunlight from adjacent, clearer skies.

I scrambled over rock and then crested broad grassy slopes. Typically, I was enjoying myself so much that I missed my right turn to leave the crest of the ridge. I eventually found the feint path and part jogged off the mountain.

I arrived back at the car with minutes to spare.

One thought on “Cadair Idris, July

Leave a Reply

