Bad week

What with the weather, a niggling cold and minor bout of sciatica things were a bit quiet on the training front last week.

Looking at my diary, I only managed three short rides totalling 62 miles. Not great.

However, Saturday’s challenging weather conditions (strong winds, hail !) allied to some pretty stiff Pennine hills proved to be a good workout.

I had some sad news, though… my gran passed away.

She’d suffered from dementia for a number of years and my deep sadness is mixed with a sense of relief, I suppose. I’d witnessed her decline from a strong, independent, bloody-minded (!) woman to a frail old lady with a confused frown, punctuated by the occasional smile.

I’ll miss your stories, gran, your arguments with Dad and your great cups of tea… always made in a pot and with proper tea leaves.

Leave a Reply

