Click, creak… arrgh!

I love riding bikes, and nothing serves to solidify the experience than a sweet sounding transmission.

I’ve got a tiny problem, though, with my Thorn Audax Mk3. I’ve had a metallic creak/ticking noise occurring every time I press on the pedals (not always when standing and pressing on… a change in pedal pressure due to acceleration will create the noise).

It’s been all the way back to Thorn in Bridgewater for a diagnosis and two people there have taken it out. One couldn’t detect a problem, the other thought it was chain related.

I appreciate their efforts, but it’s hard to nail these problems when you can’t be there in person (a disadvantage of buying remotely, of course).

I love the bike, though, and I can live with it (just) but another session in the garage last night isolated the problem to the bottom bracket area after trying all the usual suspects again (bars, stem, seat post, saddle, cassette tightness, pedals, skewers and quick release).

Removing the chain, I can create the noise by pressing down on the pedals when the cranks are horizontal. This would suggest looseness in the BB. I’m going to get a torque wrench and tighten the bolts as its an external BB.

I’ll let you know how I get on.

3 thoughts on “Click, creak… arrgh!

  1. Hi, I’m doing LEJOG in May on an Audax Mk3. Originally I was going to ride a BRG but after 600 miles discovered a crack in the frame near the BB. Mr Thorn was very nice and replaced it within 24hrs. It used to creak but I wasn’t sure why. I have now swapped the components from the BRG to the new one (the new one is red). I too have a click/creak… arrgh!I’ve heard it before, when the hollowtech BB on my Trek was overtight. But I did this one up myself and certainly didn’t over tighten it. Reading your experience, I think I need to whip both BB cups off, regrease and pop back on. That click is really really frustrating. Mind you, if I find out it’s the pedals or seat post…Graeme.

  2. Thanks for the thoughts, Graeme.The guys in the Thorn workshop dismantled the BB and refitted it still with no joy. There’s still a chance it could be coming from the headset area as frames tend to transmit noise along the tubes… we’ll see.It’s great ride, though. I think the frame is great… exactly what I wanted.

Leave a Reply

