A(nother) postcard from the edge


More edges? Well this is the Peak District… and it is well know for its gritstone.

Sunday was spent in a new neck of the woods. I drove to Hathersage and parked at the National Trust Longshaw estate.

I followed the network of trails through ancient woods and jumbles of rocks to the start of Froggatt Edge and kept on trudging in the rain until I ran out of rock at the Robin Hood Pub near Baslow.

I walked back admiring the edges from a different angle from the shelter of the Derwent Valley. The weather was pretty miserable all told, but this would be a fantastic trip in the summer, with plenty of opportunity for the odd scramble.

Here’s to longer and, hopefully, drier days.

3 thoughts on “A(nother) postcard from the edge

  1. Hi,sounds like you had an enjoyable day.Kinder Scout is one of my most frequent haunts but I really enjoy parking up at Hathersage railway station and making the very short train journey to Grindleford.I then walk up Padley Gorge and onto the Longshaw estate and then via Carl walk and Higger Tor and onto Stanage Edge and then dropping back into Hathersage.A walk of great variety which I never tire of.Maybe our paths will cross one of these days.

  2. Those names bring back some memories – as a boy I spent many happy days up there in sun, rain and snow. I look forward to seeing more photos and reading more accounts of the old stamping ground.

  3. I am like the others and have had many happy days in the Peaks. There are many wonderful walks to do and you can be alone if you plan a route well. Like Chris I look forward to more photos from you.

Leave a Reply

