Two wheels: good

I am writing this from a dingy hotel room in Belfast. I’m here for a conference and, with my little domestic issue now sorted (near as damn it anyway), I am at last able to devote some time to this blog again. Feels good.

During the last three weeks or so, I have been rediscovering the joys of my touring bike as I’ve needed to get out of the house and clear my head. For those who are interested in such things, it’s an oldish Dawes Galaxy to which I’ve made numerous modifications so it fits my frankly lanky frame.

I’d quite forgotten how nice it is to ride and my 30-mile sorties over the hills to Saddleworth and beyond have been a joy. The weight is falling off me, too.

I used to ride a folder (a fantastic Bike Friday Pocket Llama) when I was a daily commuter to London and became as fit and lean as I’d ever been.

I am looking to regain a bit of that conditioning as it’s good for the hills too.

Hours in saddle have got me day dreaming, though. I’m starting to warm to the idea of a solo attempt on the LEJOG next year. Camping gear and all.

If I’m serious, I’d better get the miles in!

One thought on “Two wheels: good

  1. Hi guysWe’re running a video campaign on behalf of Timberland who are looking to appear on sites like northernwalker.com, and I’m enquiring if you would be interested in posting the clip, which is targeted at your readers. The film is about a new boot made of recycled materials and a dangerous walk in the great outdoors.You would be paid for the placement and so that your user’s know it’s commercial content, the video should be marked as ‘Sponsored’. Alternatively we have options for sidebar and expandable clips for traditional advertising spaces.Viewers would not leave your site when watching the film, and the clip would be embedded in a compatible video format. We are looking at a live date very soon, please see the clip here:http://www.the7thchamber.com/blog.asp?ID=14060Please let me know if you’re interested in this opportunity. Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you soonbest regardsToby Young

Leave a Reply

