Ticked off

I’ve always been very careful about ticks.

After a horse-riding trip in the Mexican Sierra Madre left me with one these blighters burrowed into my leg, I’ve always covered up and checked myself carefully after trips in the countryside.

I was more than a little annoyed, therefore, to find one taking residence at the back of my knee on the drive home from Scotland. I’d been on a walk on the fringes of Glen Nevis the day before but had checked myself carefully in the shower.

Could it have been lurking in my trousers???

Anyway, stopping at the Westmorland services, I removed the little blighter carefully with a purpose-designed tool that my other half had purchased for me in jest.

Ticks are no joke, though. I am now monitoring my health for the next few weeks hoping that I will avoid the nasties that these creatures can carry and pass onto to their unwitting hosts.

2 thoughts on “Ticked off

  1. Glad to hear you didn’t get anything following your experiences.The bite wound appears to be healing OK and I don’t have any of the tell tale red rings.However, I feel a little crook. A little lethargic, a headache etc but that may be more to do with the fact that I’m back at work and resuming my unhealthy coffee habit. I’ll keep on monitoring my progress.

Leave a Reply

