Maroc and roll

So, back from Morocco… This journey can be summarised thus:

I didn’t camp… at all

I got sick – very sick, actually – and passed out. This curtailed my plans quite severely

Crawled over a mountain pass when I should have been in bed

I didn’t get off the beaten track as much as I’d wanted

I took buses

Drank eight litres of water a day… or should have done

I ate too much tagine and became sick of it

BUT…

I enjoyed some of the most amazing riding I have ever experienced

Met some warm, courteous and helpful people

Shook people’s hands and touched my heart

Drank date ‘whisky’ (read: moonshine)

Played some drums and jammed

Slept on a roof

Raced local kids

Rolled out my best Huddersfield accent in a moment’s weakness

Laughed… a lot

Watched Premiership football in a local shop

Drank some excellent Moroccan red wine in a rooftop bar

Had the best company.

… stories and photos to come.

Surly Troll in Morocco

About Matt Hobley

Hillwalker, backpacker, cyclist, whisky fan.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Maroc and roll

  1. Sounds like adventure in the true sense of the word.

    • Nearly! This trip certainly presented more challenges than others.The last few days were really tough riding into the Saharan headwind. Something akin to a fan oven.

  2. Oh dear. I’ve spent an hour or so in such conditions and that is enough, days in headwinds after being sick sounds terrible.

    • I think the headwinds were a bit of a revelation for my buddy who hadn’t toured by bike before. He thought they were worse than the climbs and I can only agree.There’s a sense of satisfaction with climbing…

  3. westonfront says:

    Are you a drummer back home, or only when you are away from home and full of date-whisky?

Leave a Reply

